The National Guard

Fred H. Shackleford went into the army, the Clarke Courier wrote, "when the National Guard was mustered into service in February of 1941." He entered with Company I, 116th Infantry, 29th Division. In 1942 he spent months in the hospital with an injured knee; in September of that year his mother had word that he was out, but still reporting every morning for treatment. He left the country on September 26, 1942, the paper said, and was stationed in England until the invasion of France.

Presumably in action

On August 31, 1944, the Courier reported that the War Department had wired his mother that he had died on August 10, "presumably in action in France." The paper added that the wire "did not state that he was killed in action." Because he had written his mother that day, it was assumed he was killed in battle. "If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action," the paper wrote, his was the first such casualty of any Clarke County soldier. He was 21.

A front-page newspaper item headed Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action, with his photograph, saying the wire did not state he was killed in action and that if he was, his was the county's first such casualty.

"If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action," the paper wrote, it was the first such casualty of any Clarke County soldier.

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), August 31, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this item on page 1, to the line "Continued on Page Twenty": 943 by 3713 pixels, shown at its own 943 by 3713 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action" Open the full image

Accidentally shot

A week later the headline read "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot." A second wire to his mother said he "was accidentally shot." In November the paper printed what his mother had been told: while a group of his unit was examining a captured German sub-machine gun, held by a companion, it "was discharged accidentally." He died of 18 bullet wounds in his chest.

A newspaper item headed Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot, reporting that a wire to his mother said he was accidentally shot, and that he had gone in with the National Guard in February 1941 at the age of 16.

A week later, from a second wire: "accidentally shot."

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), September 7, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this item: 931 by 1117 pixels, shown at its own 931 by 1117 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., September 7, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot" Open the full image

A newspaper item headed Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds, reporting that a captured German sub-machine gun held by a companion was discharged accidentally while his unit examined it.

November 1944: a captured German sub-machine gun, held by a companion, "discharged accidentally."

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), November 16, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this item: 925 by 1179 pixels, shown at its own 925 by 1179 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., November 16, 1944, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner In Japan" Open the full image

The first killed in action

Four months later, on December 28, 1944, the Courier reported the death of Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope in Germany, and called his death, "so far as can be learned," the first of a Clarke County soldier "killed in action in the present conflict."

A front-page newspaper item headed "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany," with subheads calling him the first Clarke County fatality of the war and noting a brother held prisoner. It gives his death on December 19, his visit to his brother Robert in France, and the family he left.

December 1944: Staff Sergeant Janey Lee Pope is killed in action in Germany; so far as the paper could learn, the first Clarke County soldier killed in the war.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), December 28, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: The retained file itself, shown at its own 1058 by 3239 pixels: not scaled, not re-encoded. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., December 28, 1944, page 1: "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany" Open the full image

What this image is evidence for

Passage it reproduces: Page 1, "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany," the telegram, his age, the visit to his brother in France and the closing sentence

Statements on this site that rest on it:

  • The Clarke Courier of December 28, 1944 reported that Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope, one of four fighting sons of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville, was killed in action in Germany on December 19, as the War Department wired his parents on Tuesday; that he had turned 23 on December 9; that on December 13 he spent several days visiting his brother, Staff Sergt. Robert Edward Pope, in France; and that his death, "so far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict."

Both ways

The paper's own look-back columns did not settle it. On August 30, 1945, "One Year Ago" said: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford is killed in action in France." The next week's column said: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford is accidentally killed in France while examining a captured German gun." In 1947, "Three Years Ago" said he "dies of wounds in France."

A short newspaper column headed One Year Ago, with three notes: the labor camp at the Riverside Rendezvous, Pvt. Fred Shackleford killed in action in France, and plans to celebrate V-E Day.

August 1945, a year on: "killed in action in France."

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), August 30, 1945, page 10. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this column: 928 by 500 pixels, shown at its own 928 by 500 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 30, 1945, page 10: "One Year Ago" column Open the full image

A short newspaper column headed One Year Ago, with two notes: Lt. Laurence Castleman recovering from a bullet wound, and Pvt. Fred Shackleford accidentally killed while examining a captured German gun.

The next week's column: "accidentally killed in France while examining a captured German gun."

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), September 6, 1945, page 11. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this column: 934 by 432 pixels, shown at its own 934 by 432 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., September 6, 1945, page 11: "One Year Ago" column Open the full image

The War Department's list

In June 1946 the Courier printed the War Department's honor list of the dead and missing, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war." The paper noted that the list was preliminary and might contain errors. It names Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford under "Died (Non-battle)."

A newspaper list headed Died (Non-battle), 11, naming eleven Clarke County servicemen, among them Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford, above the next heading, Died of Wounds, 2.

June 1946: the War Department's list counts him under "Died (Non-battle)."

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), June 27, 1946, page 16. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to the "Died (Non-battle)" part of the list: 921 by 725 pixels, shown at its own 921 by 725 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 16: "26 County Men" (continued from page 1) Open the full image

Brought home

In October 1948 his body was brought home to Berryville for funeral services from his late home. The Courier wrote then that he "was killed August 10, 1944, 14 miles south of St. Lo, France," and that he "was accidentally shot while examining captured machine guns." It gave his birth date as May 4, 1923.

A front-page newspaper item headed Pvt. Fred Shackleford To Be Re-Interred, announcing funeral services in Berryville and saying he was killed August 10, 1944, south of St. Lo, accidentally shot while examining captured machine guns.

October 1948: his body comes home; "accidentally shot while examining captured machine guns."

What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.

Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), October 21, 1948, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to the headline and first two paragraphs of this item: 932 by 1113 pixels, shown at its own 932 by 1113 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.

Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., October 21, 1948, page 1: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford To Be Re-Interred" Open the full image

About the sourcesWhat the evidence says
What the evidence says

Clarke Courier items of 1942 to 1948, read on the Library of Congress page images: the reports of his death, the paper's look-back columns, the War Department's 1946 list as the paper printed it, and the report of his return in 1948.

Each is the paper's account of telegrams, a report and a list that were not seen here; none is a service record. They disagree on how he died, and the story sets them side by side.

  • An account exists✓ Supported by a source

    The Clarke Courier of August 31, 1944 reported that the War Department had wired the mother of Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford that he had died on August 10, "presumably in action in France," but that the wire "did not state that he was killed in action"; it was assumed so because he had written his mother that day. "If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action," the paper said, it was the first such casualty of any Clarke County soldier. It said he went into the army with the National Guard in February 1941, at 16, was 21 at his death, and had been in England from September 1942 until the invasion of France.

    See the evidence
    ✓ Supported by a sourceAn account exists

    The Clarke Courier of August 31, 1944 reported that the War Department had wired the mother of Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford that he had died on August 10, "presumably in action in France," but that the wire "did not state that he was killed in action"; it was assumed so because he had written his mother that day. "If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action," the paper said, it was the first such casualty of any Clarke County soldier. It said he went into the army with the National Guard in February 1941, at 16, was 21 at his death, and had been in England from September 1942 until the invasion of France.

    What the source supports

    That the paper first reported his death as presumably in action.

    Uncertainty

    The paper's report of a telegram that was not seen; the paper itself says the wire did not state he was killed in action. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.

    Source

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action," the headline, opening and photograph.

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action," the headline, opening and photograph

    Relevant passage
    Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action [...] The death of Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford, son of Mrs. Melvin Shackleford and the late Mr. Shackleford, presumably in action in France, was reported on Sunday by the War Department who wired the soldier's mother.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Relevant passage
    His death occurred August 10, the wire stated, but it did not state that he was killed in action.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Relevant passage
    If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action, is [sic] the first such casualty suffered by any Clarke county soldier, it is believed. Several soldiers from the county have been killed or died, but none have been killed in action.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"

    Relevant passage
    Pvt. Shackleford was inducted into the army when the National Guard was mustered into service in February of 1941.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 20, "Pvt. Shackleford" (continued from page 1).

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 20: "Pvt. Shackleford" (continued from page 1)

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)

    Locator: Page 20, "Pvt. Shackleford" (continued from page 1)

    Relevant passage
    of 16 years, and was 21 years old at his death. [...] He left this country September 26, 1942 and was stationed in England until the invasion of France.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

  • An account exists✓ Supported by a source

    The Clarke Courier of September 7, 1944, under the headline "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot," reported that according to a wire his mother, Mrs. Mervin Shackleford, received on Monday, he "was accidentally shot"; that it had been assumed he was killed in action because he had written his mother the day of his death, August 10; and that he had gone in with the National Guard in February 1941 "at the age of 16."

    See the evidence
    ✓ Supported by a sourceAn account exists

    The Clarke Courier of September 7, 1944, under the headline "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot," reported that according to a wire his mother, Mrs. Mervin Shackleford, received on Monday, he "was accidentally shot"; that it had been assumed he was killed in action because he had written his mother the day of his death, August 10; and that he had gone in with the National Guard in February 1941 "at the age of 16."

    What the source supports

    That a week later the paper reported, from a second wire, that he had been accidentally shot.

    Uncertainty

    The paper's report of a wire that was not seen. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.

    Source

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., September 7, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-09-07 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot"

    Relevant passage
    Pvt. Fred Shackleford, whose death was reported last week in France, was accidentally shot, according tb [sic] a wire received by his mother, Mrs. Mervin Shackleford on Monday.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., September 7, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-09-07 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot"

    Relevant passage
    It was assumed that he had been killed in action, as he had written his mother the same day his death was reported, which was August 10.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., September 7, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-09-07 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Fred Shackleford Accidently Shot"

    Relevant passage
    Pvt. Shackleford was inducted with the National Guard in February, 1941 at the age of 16.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

  • An account exists✓ Supported by a source

    The Clarke Courier of November 16, 1944 reported that Pvt. Fred Shackleford, "killed accidentally in France on August 10," died of 18 bullet wounds in his chest from a captured German sub-machine gun held by a companion of his outfit, which was discharged accidentally while a group of his unit was examining it, as his mother, Mrs. Mervin Shackleford of Berryville, had been told. It said he was with the 29th Division.

    See the evidence
    ✓ Supported by a sourceAn account exists

    The Clarke Courier of November 16, 1944 reported that Pvt. Fred Shackleford, "killed accidentally in France on August 10," died of 18 bullet wounds in his chest from a captured German sub-machine gun held by a companion of his outfit, which was discharged accidentally while a group of his unit was examining it, as his mother, Mrs. Mervin Shackleford of Berryville, had been told. It said he was with the 29th Division.

    What the source supports

    How the paper reported his death in November 1944.

    Uncertainty

    The paper's account of a report his mother received, which was not seen. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.

    Source

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., November 16, 1944, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner In Japan"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-11-16 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds"

    Relevant passage
    Pvt. Fred Shackleford, who was killed accidentally in France on August 10, died as a result of 18 bullet wounds in his chest from a captured German sub-machine gun held by a companion of his outfit.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., November 16, 1944, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner In Japan"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-11-16 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds"

    Relevant passage
    It was while a group of his unit was examining the sub-machine gun when it was discharged accidentally. He was with the 29th Division.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

  • An account exists✓ Supported by a source

    The "One Year Ago" column of the Clarke Courier of August 30, 1945 says: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford is killed in action in France."

    See the evidence
    ✓ Supported by a sourceAn account exists

    The "One Year Ago" column of the Clarke Courier of August 30, 1945 says: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford is killed in action in France."

    What the source supports

    That the paper's look-back column of August 1945 says he was killed in action.

    Uncertainty

    A one-line note a year later; the column of the next week says he was accidentally killed. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.

    Source

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 10, "One Year Ago" column.

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 30, 1945, page 10: "One Year Ago" column

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-08-30 (publication)

    Locator: Page 10, "One Year Ago" column

    Relevant passage
    ONE YEAR AGO [...] Pvt. Fred Shackleford is killed in action in France.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

  • An account exists✓ Supported by a source

    The "One Year Ago" column of the Clarke Courier of September 6, 1945 says: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford is accidentally killed in France while examining a captured German gun."

    See the evidence
    ✓ Supported by a sourceAn account exists

    The "One Year Ago" column of the Clarke Courier of September 6, 1945 says: "Pvt. Fred Shackleford is accidentally killed in France while examining a captured German gun."

    What the source supports

    That the paper's look-back column of September 1945 says he was accidentally killed.

    Uncertainty

    A one-line note a year later; the column of the week before says he was killed in action. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.

    Source

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 11, "One Year Ago" column.

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., September 6, 1945, page 11: "One Year Ago" column

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-09-06 (publication)

    Locator: Page 11, "One Year Ago" column

    Relevant passage
    ONE YEAR AGO [...] Pvt. Fred Shackleford is accidentally killed in France while examining a captured German gun.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

  • An account exists✓ Supported by a source

    The Clarke Courier of June 27, 1946 reported a War Department honor list of the dead and missing of World War II, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war," under the headline "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action." The list as the paper printed it names Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford under "Died (Non-battle)."

    See the evidence
    ✓ Supported by a sourceAn account exists

    The Clarke Courier of June 27, 1946 reported a War Department honor list of the dead and missing of World War II, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war," under the headline "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action." The list as the paper printed it names Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford under "Died (Non-battle)."

    What the source supports

    That the War Department's 1946 list, as the paper printed it, counts him among those who died in non-battle.

    Uncertainty

    The paper says the list was preliminary and might contain errors; the list itself was not seen. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.

    Source

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action".

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 1: "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action"

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1946-06-27 (publication)

    Locator: Page 1, "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action"

    Relevant passage
    Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action The War Department has released a list today of the honor list of dead and missing of World War II, showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    Reporting

    Evidence role: supports. Page 16, "26 County Men" (continued from page 1).

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 16: "26 County Men" (continued from page 1)

    Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1946-06-27 (publication)

    Locator: Page 16, "26 County Men" (continued from page 1)

    Relevant passage
    Died (Non-battle), 11 [...] Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford, and Pvt. Clifton P. Zombro.

    Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.

    Open source

    Source family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.

    AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

Each statement above is assessed on its own evidence. Nothing here is averaged, scored or voted on, and a well-attributed account can be documented while what it describes stays unconfirmed.

Closing notes
What to take awayThe Courier reported Fred Shackleford's death both ways, killed in action and accidentally shot; the War Department's list counts it as a non-battle death.

Source note

This story rests on Clarke Courier items of 1942 to 1948, read on the Library of Congress page images. The paper reported telegrams, a report to his mother and a War Department list that were not seen here, and none of its items is a service record. It printed his death both ways, killed in action and accidentally shot, and this story sets the reports side by side as printed. The paper gives his mother's name as Mrs. Melvin and as Mrs. Mervin Shackleford, and his age when he went into the National Guard as 16, though the birth date it gave in 1948 would make him 17.

Open question

What does the Army's own report of August 1944 say of how Fred Shackleford died?

Know more about this story, or see something to correct? Help fill a gap. It stays private until it is reviewed.

Remember this place or someone in this story? Share a memory, even if you do not know the date. It stays private until it is reviewed.

Go deeper: every source under this story Follow another thread

Capt. Lloyd W. Williams of the Marines, 1917 to 1921

The Courier's first son of Clarke killed in France in the World War, and how its reports of his death disagreed.