The roll
The roll of Clarke's veterans on this site lists 603 people who served in World War II. The Clarke Courier printed the War Department's telegrams to their families as they came.
In June 1946 the Courier printed a War Department honor list of the dead and missing, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war." Its headline counted 9 killed in action and 11 who died in non-action.
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1946
The Clarke Courier of June 27, 1946 reported a War Department honor list of the dead and missing of World War II, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war," under the headline "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action." The list as the paper printed it names Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford under "Died (Non-battle)."
What the source supports
That the War Department's 1946 list, as the paper printed it, counts him among those who died in non-battle.
Uncertainty
The paper says the list was preliminary and might contain errors; the list itself was not seen. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.
Source
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 1: "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1946-06-27 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action"
Relevant passageReport Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action The War Department has released a list today of the honor list of dead and missing of World War II, showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. Page 16, "26 County Men" (continued from page 1).
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 16: "26 County Men" (continued from page 1)
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1946-06-27 (publication)
Locator: Page 16, "26 County Men" (continued from page 1)
Relevant passageDied (Non-battle), 11 [...] Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford, and Pvt. Clifton P. Zombro.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

June 1946: the War Department's list counts him under "Died (Non-battle)."
What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), June 27, 1946, page 16. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to the "Died (Non-battle)" part of the list: 921 by 725 pixels, shown at its own 921 by 725 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 16: "26 County Men" (continued from page 1) Open the full image
The home front
Before Pearl Harbor, in June 1941, H. B. Harris, commander of the American Legion post, and Townsend Burwell were forming a Clarke station of the Virginia Aircraft Warning Service, and asked for volunteers for eight posts to watch the sky. In May 1942 hundreds of motorists came to the schoolhouses to register for gasoline rationing cards, questioned by the teachers.
In July 1943 the War Department closed the county's three observation posts, judging that "the danger of a large scale sustained attack from the air in this section has passed."
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1941
The Clarke Courier of June 12, 1941 reported that the formation of a Clarke county station of the Virginia Aircraft Warning Service was being carried out by H. B. Harris, commander of the Lloyd Williams Post, American Legion, and Townsend Burwell, and that Commander Harris asked for volunteers as chief observers and observers for the eight posts to be established in the county.
What the source supports
That the county's aircraft warning station was being organized in June 1941, by whom, and for how many posts.
Uncertainty
An announcement of formation, not an outcome: it does not show that eight posts were set up. H. B. Harris is not joined to any other Harris, nor Townsend Burwell to any other Burwell.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The headline, subhead and opening paragraphs.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 12, 1941, page 1: "Observation Post To Be Formed In County"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1941-06-12 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, report of the observation post to be formed, headline, subhead and first two paragraphs
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1942
The Clarke Courier of May 14, 1942 reported that hundreds of motorists had come to the school houses that week to register for gasoline rationing cards, where they were questioned by school teachers; that the cards were being issued at Berryville High School, Boyce High School, Providence Chapel School, White Post School, Gaylord School and the Millwood Colored School; and that the X card entitled its holder to unlimited quantities of fuel.
What the source supports
That the county's schools served as gasoline registration offices, with teachers questioning motorists, and which schools did so.
Uncertainty
The schools are named as printed and are not joined to school records elsewhere in this project. The paper adds that many sought the X card but only a few were issued.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The report of the registration.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., May 14, 1942, page 1: "Hundreds Issued Gas Rationing Cards Here"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1942-05-14 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, report of the gasoline card registration at the schools
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1943
The Clarke Courier of July 22, 1943 reported that the three observation posts in Clarke county had been closed at midnight the night before on an order from the War Department, which announced that in its opinion "the danger of a large scale sustained attack from the air in this section has passed"; that the posts were to maintain their organizations and be ready to spring back into action on short notice; that their chief observers had been A. Mackay Smith at White Post, John E. Zombro at Boyce and the Rev. Henry G. Lane at Berryville; and that observers were asked to report the hours they had served so that the War Department could present souvenirs.
What the source supports
That the county's posts were closed by War Department order in July 1943, the reason given, and who had led them.
Uncertainty
The paper's report of the order; the order itself was not seen. The Rev. Henry G. Lane is not joined to the Rev. H. G. Lane named in 1942.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The closing, the War Department's statement and the order to stay ready.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., July 22, 1943, page 1: "3 Aircraft Posts Closed By War Department"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1943-07-22 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, report of the posts' closing, headline, subhead, the War Department's statement and the order to stay ready
Relevant passagethe danger of a large scale sustained attack from the air in this section has passed.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. The chief observers and the request for hours served.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., July 22, 1943, page 1: "3 Aircraft Posts Closed By War Department"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1943-07-22 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, same report, the three chief observers, the service's beginning and the request for hours served
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources

H. B. Harris and Townsend Burwell form a county station of the Virginia Aircraft Warning Service and ask for volunteers for eight posts; the paper outlines how reports would travel to Roanoke or Richmond and on to Norfolk.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), June 12, 1941, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: The retained JPEG image of 1269 by 3597 pixels, scaled to 1200 by 3401 and re-encoded as JPEG for the web. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 12, 1941, page 1: "Observation Post To Be Formed In County" Open the full image

The War Department closes the county's three aircraft warning posts; the paper recalls that the service began with about nine posts and names the three chief observers.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), July 22, 1943, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: The retained file itself, shown at its own 1086 by 3147 pixels: not scaled, not re-encoded. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., July 22, 1943, page 1: "3 Aircraft Posts Closed By War Department" Open the full image
The Pope family
Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville had four sons in the service. In May 1943 the War Department told them that Technical Sergt. Ralph W. Pope, missing since May 7, 1942, was "a prisoner of war of the Japanese Government," taken in the Philippines.
In December 1944 they were wired that Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope, as the Courier printed his name, had been killed in action in Germany on December 19, ten days after he turned 23. So far as the paper could learn, he was the first Clarke soldier killed in action in the war. In May 1945 his brother Robert, after 26 months overseas and six campaigns, was one of the first Clarke men discharged under the point system. That October Ralph cabled from Manila, liberated: "I'm fine."
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1943
The Clarke Courier of May 27, 1943 reported that Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope had received word from the War Department that their son, Technical Sergt. Ralph W. Pope, first reported missing as of May 7, 1942, was "a prisoner of war of the Japanese Government," taken in the Philippine Island campaign; the War Department said the word had just been received through the International Red Cross and that a letter of information would follow.
What the source supports
That the Courier reported the War Department's notice that Ralph W. Pope was a prisoner of the Japanese.
Uncertainty
The paper's report of a War Department notice, which was not seen; the notice is not dated in the item. "Ralph W. Pope" as printed; another middle initial printed elsewhere (Ralph E.) is not joined or resolved here.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The whole item.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., May 27, 1943, page 16: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner Of Japs"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1943-05-27 (publication)
Locator: Page 16, "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner Of Japs," the whole item
Relevant passagea prisoner of war of the Japanese Government.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1944
The Clarke Courier of December 28, 1944 reported that Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope, one of four fighting sons of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville, was killed in action in Germany on December 19, as the War Department wired his parents on Tuesday; that he had turned 23 on December 9; that on December 13 he spent several days visiting his brother, Staff Sergt. Robert Edward Pope, in France; and that his death, "so far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict."
What the source supports
That the Courier reported Janey Lee Pope killed in action in Germany in December 1944, and its qualified statement that he was the county's first.
Uncertainty
The paper's report of a War Department telegram, which was not seen. The death date is December 19 here and December 16 in a later Courier item (October 4, 1945, page 16, held as machine text only); the two are not reconciled, and the story gives only the month. "First Clarke county soldier" is the paper's qualified statement, not a verified count. His unit and the list of survivors are not used, and the survivors named are not joined to names in earlier items.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The first, third and last paragraphs.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., December 28, 1944, page 1: "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-12-28 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany," the telegram, his age, the visit to his brother in France and the closing sentence
Relevant passageso far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1945
The Clarke Courier of May 31, 1945 reported that Staff Sergt. Robert Pope, son of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville, was "One of the first, if not the first," soldier from Clarke county to be discharged under the point system; that he was discharged May 21 after serving overseas for 26 months; that he took part in six campaigns, in Tunisia, Sicily, Naples-Foggia, Rome-Arno, Southern France and Germany; and that he had a total of 112 points.
What the source supports
That the Courier reported Robert Pope's discharge under the point system in May 1945 as one of the county's first.
Uncertainty
The paper's claim of primacy is qualified as printed and is not verified against discharge records, which were not seen. The brothers' news in the same item (a brother printed as "Janney"; Ralph's camp given as No. 11) is not used and not reconciled with earlier items.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The first and second paragraphs.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., May 31, 1945, page 1: "Sgt. Pope First County Dischargee Under Point System"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-05-31 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Sgt. Pope First County Dischargee Under Point System," first and second paragraphs
Relevant passageOne of the first, if not the first, soldier from Clarke county to be discharged under the point system
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1945
The Clarke Courier of October 4, 1945 reported that Sergt. Ralph W. Pope of Berryville, a prisoner of the Japanese since May 7, 1942, had been liberated and was in Manila awaiting transportation home, as he had cabled his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope, in a cable that began "I'm fine."; that little was known of his rescue; and that during his entire internment his family had received a total of only five government-regulation prisoner-of-war postcards and one letter containing official news of a broadcast he had made.
What the source supports
The family's news of Ralph Pope's liberation, and how little word they had had of him, as the paper reported it.
Uncertainty
The paper's report of the cable; the cable was not seen. The other names in the cable are not used. The page 16 continuation is not used. The liberation is not dated in the item.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The item to the jump.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., October 4, 1945, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Liberated From Japanese Camp"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-10-04 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Sergt. Ralph Pope Liberated From Japanese Camp," the cable, and the family's five postcards and one letter, to the jump to page 16
Relevant passageI'm fine.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources

May 1943: the War Department, through the International Red Cross, reports Technical Sergeant Ralph W. Pope a prisoner of war of the Japanese.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), May 27, 1943, page 16. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: The retained file itself, shown at its own 1075 by 1590 pixels: not scaled, not re-encoded. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., May 27, 1943, page 16: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner Of Japs" Open the full image

December 1944: Staff Sergeant Janey Lee Pope is killed in action in Germany; so far as the paper could learn, the first Clarke County soldier killed in the war.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), December 28, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: The retained file itself, shown at its own 1058 by 3239 pixels: not scaled, not re-encoded. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., December 28, 1944, page 1: "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany" Open the full image
What this image is evidence for
Passage it reproduces: Page 1, "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany," the telegram, his age, the visit to his brother in France and the closing sentence
Statements on this site that rest on it:
- The Clarke Courier of December 28, 1944 reported that Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope, one of four fighting sons of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville, was killed in action in Germany on December 19, as the War Department wired his parents on Tuesday; that he had turned 23 on December 9; that on December 13 he spent several days visiting his brother, Staff Sergt. Robert Edward Pope, in France; and that his death, "so far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict."
In action, or by accident
In August 1944 the War Department wired the mother of Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford of Berryville that he had died on August 10, "presumably in action in France." In November the Courier reported what she had since been told: he died of 18 bullet wounds from a captured German sub-machine gun that went off while men of his unit were examining it.
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1944
The Clarke Courier of August 31, 1944 reported that the War Department had wired the mother of Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford that he had died on August 10, "presumably in action in France," but that the wire "did not state that he was killed in action"; it was assumed so because he had written his mother that day. "If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action," the paper said, it was the first such casualty of any Clarke County soldier. It said he went into the army with the National Guard in February 1941, at 16, was 21 at his death, and had been in England from September 1942 until the invasion of France.
What the source supports
That the paper first reported his death as presumably in action.
Uncertainty
The paper's report of a telegram that was not seen; the paper itself says the wire did not state he was killed in action. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.
Source
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action," the headline, opening and photograph.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action," the headline, opening and photograph
Relevant passagePvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action [...] The death of Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford, son of Mrs. Melvin Shackleford and the late Mr. Shackleford, presumably in action in France, was reported on Sunday by the War Department who wired the soldier's mother.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Relevant passageHis death occurred August 10, the wire stated, but it did not state that he was killed in action.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Relevant passageIf Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action, is [sic] the first such casualty suffered by any Clarke county soldier, it is believed. Several soldiers from the county have been killed or died, but none have been killed in action.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action"
Relevant passagePvt. Shackleford was inducted into the army when the National Guard was mustered into service in February of 1941.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. Page 20, "Pvt. Shackleford" (continued from page 1).
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 20: "Pvt. Shackleford" (continued from page 1)
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-08-31 (publication)
Locator: Page 20, "Pvt. Shackleford" (continued from page 1)
Relevant passageof 16 years, and was 21 years old at his death. [...] He left this country September 26, 1942 and was stationed in England until the invasion of France.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1944
The Clarke Courier of November 16, 1944 reported that Pvt. Fred Shackleford, "killed accidentally in France on August 10," died of 18 bullet wounds in his chest from a captured German sub-machine gun held by a companion of his outfit, which was discharged accidentally while a group of his unit was examining it, as his mother, Mrs. Mervin Shackleford of Berryville, had been told. It said he was with the 29th Division.
What the source supports
How the paper reported his death in November 1944.
Uncertainty
The paper's account of a report his mother received, which was not seen. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.
Source
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., November 16, 1944, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner In Japan"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-11-16 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds"
Relevant passagePvt. Fred Shackleford, who was killed accidentally in France on August 10, died as a result of 18 bullet wounds in his chest from a captured German sub-machine gun held by a companion of his outfit.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., November 16, 1944, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner In Japan"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-11-16 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Pvt. Shackleford Dies Of 18 Bullet Wounds"
Relevant passageIt was while a group of his unit was examining the sub-machine gun when it was discharged accidentally. He was with the 29th Division.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources

"If Pvt. Shackleford was killed in action," the paper wrote, it was the first such casualty of any Clarke County soldier.
What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), August 31, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this item on page 1, to the line "Continued on Page Twenty": 943 by 3713 pixels, shown at its own 943 by 3713 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 31, 1944, page 1: "Pvt. Shackleford Reported Killed In French Action" Open the full image

November 1944: a captured German sub-machine gun, held by a companion, "discharged accidentally."
What this image does and does not showA crop of part of one page; the rest of the page is not shown.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), November 16, 1944, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: Cropped from the Library of Congress page image to this item: 925 by 1179 pixels, shown at its own 925 by 1179 pixels; re-encoded as JPEG. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., November 16, 1944, page 1: "Sergt. Ralph Pope Prisoner In Japan" Open the full image
Victory
The news of the war's end came over the radio at seven on a Tuesday evening in August 1945. People came into the streets of Berryville and shouted, the fire siren blew, church bells rang, and afterward bonfires burned on the four corners of the main block. By December the draft board was announcing twenty Clarke servicemen discharged in a single week.
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1945
The Clarke Courier of August 16, 1945 reported that the news of the war's end was flashed over the radio at seven p.m. Tuesday; that people came out of their homes into the streets of Berryville and shouted, the fire siren was blown long and loud, church bells rang and automobiles filled with people went through the town with horns tooting; that churches in the county were packed and a community service was held in the Berryville Baptist Church; and that afterward crowds gathered on the streets, large bonfires were lit on the four corners of the main block in Berryville, and boys and girls kept them fed with paper, old tires and other trash.
What the source supports
How the county received the news of Japan's surrender, as the Courier reported it.
Uncertainty
The paper's report; the part continued on page 9 was not read. The national wire report printed beside it is not used as county evidence. The ministers named as conducting the service are not used here.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The county report, left column.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 16, 1945, page 1: "County Celebrates As War With Japan Ends" and "Sgt. Pope, Jap Captive, Expected To Be Freed"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-08-16 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "County Celebrates As War With Japan Ends," the county report under the subhead "County In Hilarious and Sober Mood," to the jump to page 9
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Source note: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., 1945
The Clarke Courier of December 20, 1945 reported that twenty Clarke County servicemen had been discharged that week, as the draft board announced.
What the source supports
The pace of discharges in the county in December 1945, by the draft board's announcement.
Uncertainty
The paper prints the twenty names; they are not listed or joined here. The count is the draft board's as reported.
Source
Evidence role: supports. The first paragraph.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., December 20, 1945, page 18: "Sgt. Pope" (continued from page 3) and "Twenty County Men Receive Discharges"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-12-20 (publication)
Locator: Page 18, "Twenty County Men Receive Discharges," the announcement (names not used)
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources

The county report of V-J night: the radio at seven o'clock, sirens, bells and horns, packed churches, a community service and bonfires at the four corners.
Clarke Courier (Berryville, Va.), August 16, 1945, page 1. Library of Congress, Chronicling America. Rights Changes: A detail of the retained region crop of the Library of Congress page image (2096 by 3824 pixels): the rectangle from x 0 to 1055 and y 510 to 3824, which leaves out the unrelated items around it, not scaled, and re-encoded as JPEG. The whole page is at the source link. Nothing retouched or added.
Source: Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 16, 1945, page 1: "County Celebrates As War With Japan Ends" and "Sgt. Pope, Jap Captive, Expected To Be Freed" Open the full image
About the sourcesWhat the evidence says
Clarke Courier items of 1941 to 1946, already published on this site and read on the Library of Congress page images, and the roll of veterans.
The roll's count is of people this site has found on a record of service; it is not an official enlistment count, and it changes as names are added.
- An account exists✓ Supported by a source
The Clarke Courier of June 27, 1946 reported a War Department honor list of the dead and missing of World War II, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war," under the headline "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action." The list as the paper printed it names Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford under "Died (Non-battle)."
See the evidence
✓ Supported by a sourceAn account existsThe Clarke Courier of June 27, 1946 reported a War Department honor list of the dead and missing of World War II, "showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war," under the headline "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action." The list as the paper printed it names Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford under "Died (Non-battle)."
What the source supports
That the War Department's 1946 list, as the paper printed it, counts him among those who died in non-battle.
Uncertainty
The paper says the list was preliminary and might contain errors; the list itself was not seen. Read on the page image of the Library of Congress digital reproduction. No human historian has reviewed this claim.
Source
Reporting Evidence role: supports. Page 1, "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action".
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 1: "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1946-06-27 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Report Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action"
Relevant passageReport Of War Department Lists 9 Killed In Action And 11 Died In Non-Action The War Department has released a list today of the honor list of dead and missing of World War II, showing that Clarke county lost 26 men during the war.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
Reporting Evidence role: supports. Page 16, "26 County Men" (continued from page 1).
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., June 27, 1946, page 16: "26 County Men" (continued from page 1)
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1946-06-27 (publication)
Locator: Page 16, "26 County Men" (continued from page 1)
Relevant passageDied (Non-battle), 11 [...] Pvt. Fred H. Shackleford, and Pvt. Clifton P. Zombro.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-10-14. How this project checks its sources
- An account exists✓ Supported by a source
The Clarke Courier of December 28, 1944 reported that Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope, one of four fighting sons of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville, was killed in action in Germany on December 19, as the War Department wired his parents on Tuesday; that he had turned 23 on December 9; that on December 13 he spent several days visiting his brother, Staff Sergt. Robert Edward Pope, in France; and that his death, "so far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict."
See the evidence
✓ Supported by a sourceAn account existsThe Clarke Courier of December 28, 1944 reported that Staff Sergt. Janey Lee Pope, one of four fighting sons of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pope of near Berryville, was killed in action in Germany on December 19, as the War Department wired his parents on Tuesday; that he had turned 23 on December 9; that on December 13 he spent several days visiting his brother, Staff Sergt. Robert Edward Pope, in France; and that his death, "so far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict."
What the source supports
That the Courier reported Janey Lee Pope killed in action in Germany in December 1944, and its qualified statement that he was the county's first.
Uncertainty
The paper's report of a War Department telegram, which was not seen. The death date is December 19 here and December 16 in a later Courier item (October 4, 1945, page 16, held as machine text only); the two are not reconciled, and the story gives only the month. "First Clarke county soldier" is the paper's qualified statement, not a verified count. His unit and the list of survivors are not used, and the survivors named are not joined to names in earlier items.
Source
Reporting Evidence role: supports. The first, third and last paragraphs.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., December 28, 1944, page 1: "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1944-12-28 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "Sgt. Janey L. Pope Killed In Action In Germany," the telegram, his age, the visit to his brother in France and the closing sentence
Relevant passageso far as can be learned, is the first Clarke county soldier to be killed in action in the present conflict.
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
- An account exists✓ Supported by a source
The Clarke Courier of August 16, 1945 reported that the news of the war's end was flashed over the radio at seven p.m. Tuesday; that people came out of their homes into the streets of Berryville and shouted, the fire siren was blown long and loud, church bells rang and automobiles filled with people went through the town with horns tooting; that churches in the county were packed and a community service was held in the Berryville Baptist Church; and that afterward crowds gathered on the streets, large bonfires were lit on the four corners of the main block in Berryville, and boys and girls kept them fed with paper, old tires and other trash.
See the evidence
✓ Supported by a sourceAn account existsThe Clarke Courier of August 16, 1945 reported that the news of the war's end was flashed over the radio at seven p.m. Tuesday; that people came out of their homes into the streets of Berryville and shouted, the fire siren was blown long and loud, church bells rang and automobiles filled with people went through the town with horns tooting; that churches in the county were packed and a community service was held in the Berryville Baptist Church; and that afterward crowds gathered on the streets, large bonfires were lit on the four corners of the main block in Berryville, and boys and girls kept them fed with paper, old tires and other trash.
What the source supports
How the county received the news of Japan's surrender, as the Courier reported it.
Uncertainty
The paper's report; the part continued on page 9 was not read. The national wire report printed beside it is not used as county evidence. The ministers named as conducting the service are not used here.
Source
Reporting Evidence role: supports. The county report, left column.
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va., August 16, 1945, page 1: "County Celebrates As War With Japan Ends" and "Sgt. Pope, Jap Captive, Expected To Be Freed"
Clarke Courier, Berryville, Va. · 1945-08-16 (publication)
Locator: Page 1, "County Celebrates As War With Japan Ends," the county report under the subhead "County In Hilarious and Sober Mood," to the jump to page 9
Checked: Original inspected. A digital reproduction was inspected; no original has been handled.
Open sourceSource family: clarke-courier. Multiple passages from one source are not independent witnesses.
AI-assisted source check (Claude Opus 5.5) · 2026-09-26. How this project checks its sources
Each statement above is assessed on its own evidence. Nothing here is averaged, scored or voted on, and a well-attributed account can be documented while what it describes stays unconfirmed.
Source note
This overview rests on Clarke Courier items of 1941 to 1946 already published on this site, each read on the page image, and on the roll of veterans, whose count grows as names are added. The home front, the Pope family and Pvt. Shackleford each have a fuller story.
Who were the 26 men the War Department's 1946 list counted for Clarke, and does each have a place on the roll of veterans?
Know more about this story, or see something to correct? Help fill a gap. It stays private until it is reviewed.
Remember this place or someone in this story? Share a memory, even if you do not know the date. It stays private until it is reviewed.
Go deeper: every source under this story Follow another threadDear Dan: Clarke's home front, 1943–1945
The "Dear Dan" letters, the spotter posts and the Pope family, week by week from 1943 to 1945.